If At First You Don’t Suceed… make another blanket

8

February 16, 2013 by rebeccaannemarshall

Brace yourselves today people, this weeks post is a doozie! Today I would very much like to share with you all some photographs of my ever so adventurous new hobby!

……

….. I have…. started knitting! OK I should say that I started about a month or so ago, but regardless it is still the newest of my hobbies. My best girl friend knits, her sister as well and her mother. My grandmother used to knit also, and just recently (again a couple of months ago) my sister decided to try her hand in it as well. Being as it seemed like the cool thing to do I thought, HEY why not jump on the knitting bus with the rest of them!

Off to WelkMart I went, which is more or less a discount store where you can find nearly anything you can think of, and I purchased myself my very fist pair of needles (actually two pairs) and a handful of yarn. Also, and completely unrelated, I had to grab some corn pads for my 6 year old daughter. As you can imagine I felt MUCH older then 25 going to the till with my little arm full of corn pad and knitting goodies.

Home I went, to my newest best friend, who apparently wont leave my side whilst I am busy knitknitpurling. Candle, our cat, who watches intently at the string and the tempting ball of yarn before passing out all adorable like on the cushion next to me. Not to be fooled by her cuteness, I am now fully aware of her ability to randomly spring to life and swing for a whack at the yarn and scratch me in the arm. Sneaky little…

OK so this isn't a picture of her on the couch but it's cute so deal with it.

OK so this isn’t a picture of her on the couch but it’s cute so deal with it.

My first project was meant to be a scarf, for whomever wanted to wear it. I was not expecting it to turn out wonderful by any means. It was more or less my practice/experimental project.

Half way through I noticed that I had cast on a few too many stitches and realized that I was in the midst of making something more so resembling a blanket. So a blanket it was! Or rather a very small very little blanket for baby dolls, as I had only purchased 2 balls of that yarn.

The result! and also what I told myself would be the perfect gift for my baby doll collecting almost-two year old!

The result! and also what I told myself would be the perfect gift for my baby doll collecting almost-two year old!

Next order of business was to make Belly and Chelsie something. I decided that I might as well make them both blankets as well! So I began. I had myself a very large ball of some very soft yarn that I thought would be lovely for a Belly blanket. This time I cast on even more stitches in attempts to make a slightly larger blanket for her. I only had one ball of yarn this time, HOWEVER, it was much larger then the previously mentioned ones so I figured I would be good to go. Right?

The result! OK so I guess because the yarn was more fluffy and thick the ball looked larger and what I ended up with was... well a scarf... great!!

The result! OK so I guess because the yarn was more fluffy and thick the ball looked larger and what I ended up with was… well a scarf… great!!

Alright, well a scarf that ended up being a blanket and a blanket that ended up being a scarf. I’m learning OK…. and yes I realize I could be looking up patterns and what not, but quite frankly I find flying my the seat of my own pants more fun. Once I have mastered the art of knitting and purling and purling and knitting I will move on to bigger more complicated projects, in which case I just might find myself a spectacular pattern to go by!

I then began Chelsie’s blanket! WOOO I WILL get this one right! So far so good, I cast on enough to make it six-year-old-blanket worthy. I am not looking for something massive, just a small throw blanket. Chelsie picked out her yarn, 2 balls of pink, 2 white and one purple (she basically bought out the entire crappy selection at the dollar store).

PROGRESS!!! So it is working out pretty good right now and I still have myself A LOT of yarn yet to work with. I'm confident this blanket will indeed turn out to be a blanket!

PROGRESS!!! So it is working out pretty good right now and I still have myself A LOT of yarn yet to work with. I’m confident this blanket will indeed turn out to be a blanket!

Lastly, and I admit I am rather excited about this, I am going to make myself something! I have picked out the yarn but have yet to decide if I would like to make myself another little throw blanket for the couch or something else. At any rate it has taken me at least a week to get through one ball of yarn on Chelsie’s project, and I still have 3 left to get through, so needless to say I have got some time to figure out what to do with this stuff!

Yarn2

SO from scarf-blanket to blanket-scarf to hopefully blanket-blanket and I-don’t-have-a-clue-yet I am sure by the time I am finished all these little beginner projects I will be confident enough to attempt something a little more adventurous. Not like knitting myself a bungee cord kind of adventurous, but you know… like a hat or something…

Until next Saturday! Tata!

Becky A.M

…seriously who would knit them-self a bungee cord…

…….

So I totally get wasted before I do any knitting.. it`s just sort of my thing... Nah OK so Jeff caught me off guard with the camera but seriously... this picture is a keeper

So I totally get wasted before I do any knitting.. it`s just sort of my thing… Nah OK so Jeff caught me off guard with the camera but seriously… this picture is a keeper

8 thoughts on “If At First You Don’t Suceed… make another blanket

  1. denib14 says:

    Thank you for taking the time to read and like my blog xx

  2. Manda says:

    I love to knit as well, although recently I haven’t had the time I’d like to devote to it! Beware of kitties with yarn projects. My cat likes to chew the yarn that connects the project to the skein….which creates such a headache in having all those new ends to weave in at the end. Great job though! Keep it up!

    • OH no! Yea, I keep my little bag of knitting supplies and projects hanging up and out of reach… It was to keep the girls away from it, but now I`m thinking probably good to keep the cat away as well!
      And thank you! It is a pleasant new hobby, I am glad I finally decided to give it a try 🙂

  3. Hannah says:

    I love how the scarf turned out! It looks so chunky and warm! And my cat loves to watch the yarn while my mom crochets too 🙂

  4. Well thank you! I really enjoy knitting, something very relaxing about it. And yes the picture is wonderful ha!

  5. Deb says:

    Wow wow and wow on your knitting. I awake you are a natural. Lol on that pic of you. A keeper indeed!

Wanna say something?

Looking for a category?

mumsnet

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new Dissocial posts by email.

Join 338 other followers

Archives

