Putting a Pin in my New Year Resolutions

2

January 8, 2013 by rebeccaannemarshall

this is how I feel about dieting

this is how I feel about dieting

Hello Tuesday! One week into the new year and I believe I have finally settled on my choice in new year resolutions this year. Now normally I attempt to choose just one. My most wanted, important, or dream worthy aspiration. I try to stay clear of the cliche and most popular of all resolutions. To exercise, to eat healthier, or to loose weight in general. To quit smoking or quit drinking, there are many. However this year I found it hard to choose just one particular one that I was satisfied with. One moment I would have one great idea, and the next another. I finally decided that there is no need to choose only one, if you truly think about it people set goals and work towards new dreams throughout the year, we just don’t call our mid-year-goal-making new year resolutions, but they are in essence the same thing. Something with which we make the decision that we should work towards. So this year I don’t have just one resolution, I have chosen to make myself a list (surprise surprise) of all the things I would like to accomplish before this year is through.

It is a funny sort of thing, making a resolution, isn’t it, a way for people to get themselves motivate. Motivation is often times more then half the battle when it comes to actually doing something that you want done, and new years is the perfect excuse for an otherwise unmotivated person to get motivated (I speak from personal experience of course). If you are anything like me however, you will find the most fun and most exhilarating part about having a resolution is not doing it and accomplishing it… its planning it! I will tell you a secret here, todays post has a sort of supporting topic to its main, that of that ridiculously addicting social networking site Pinterest.

MH900389120Lets start with the ever popular “I am going to loose weight” resolutions. I will admit that this is on my goals for the year 2013. So far I have done a wonderful job of pinning 10 or so fancy work outs on my Workouts/healthy inspirations board on Pinterest.

“Hmmmmm a wall hold that will work out my belly pooch? No equipment needed, perfect! lord knows I don’t own any and I’d be fooling myself if I thought I would ever go out and buy any…. PIN IT!”

“Interesting, I can use dish towels on a tile kitchen floor to do workouts. I have dish towels! This was meant for me… PIN IT!”

“Seven different exercises and all I need is a chair?… PIN IT!”

“Your best butt!…. PIN IT!”

“PPPIIIINNN IIIITTTTT!!!!”

Have I done any of the things I have pinned, absolutely not, that would require me to actually log off and get off the couch. Besides it is only a week into this year and I am building myself a library of workouts and exercises, that’s all.

MH900389328Continuing on, another one of my goals is to not only eat healthier (I know another cliche) but to also make more interesting and delicious food then my fall back, pork chops in mushroom soup and chicken with panko bread crumbs. I want to start doing more then just steamed veggies or scallop potatoes for sides. This for me is the most addicting of all addicting categories on pinterest. There is just no shortage of amazing recipes, not only that but EASY amazing recipes. My best description of it would be the collaboration of every single instruction for drool worthy food in the world, to make the holy grail of all online cookbooks. That is putting it lightly.

Ham, mac and cheese soup! Yes!”

Pierogi Lasagna. Yes as well!”

Italian Sweet Chicken Sausage Patties with Peppers and Onions on Garlic Buttered Rolls? Homemade pretzel dough AND cheese sauce recipe? Crock Pot French Onion Soup recipe? Oreo and peanut butter brownies? yes, yes, yes and YES….. PIN IT!!!!”

Sigh… have I made any of those things… no. But I am telling you, I fully plan on it that is for sure. Beside who has even one cook book that they have made each and every one of the recipes from? That’s right. (p.s I decided to link to the recipes because, seriously, drool worthy)

I suppose you all get the point I am making here. I am rather enjoying myself planning away, working towards my resolutions without having to even leave the couch or really do anything at all, I call it preparation. I am readying myself with an abundance of ideas and recipes to ensure my preparedness in this new year. Without preparation on ones task there is sure to be failure… well at least this is what I choose to tell myself.

MH900088568On top of those before mentioned goals, I have also to make a habit of writing more blog posts ahead of time so as not to be stressed out with having to write, edit/proof read and finish one all the night before it posts. I have also to get out of the house more often and maybe attempt to me not such a dissocial mom. Finally, among other little goals here and there, I would really like to work harder on finishing the novel that I started last year that has been sitting frozen on chapter 5 for the past couple of months. So far I have made progress with making notes inside my head as I nod off to sleep about ideas for where my novel should go, thought about all the possible things I could do that would get me out of the house on a regular basis and reminded myself every day that I should really find time to sit down and write a blog post. Not such bad progress I think! Right?!

Now I will leave you with this not totally off topic message. As I was listening to the radio the other night whilst contemplating to myself weather I should watch TV or do some writing, a lady (who’s name I either do not recall or did not catch) was being interviewed about a study done on how successful people were with their new year resolutions. She went on to say that nearly 80% of people who make a resolution in the new year are not successful in accomplishing it. She left the interview, with what I can only assume was an attempt at being motivational, by saying “You WILL fail, but you must continue to try and succeed.” Now I am going to leave you with my revised version of that sentiment. You will ONLY fail if you DO NOT continue to try and succeed!

Happy new year resolution-ing (sure, we will pretend that’s a word)

Until Saturday! Ta ta!

Becky A.M

I apologize… or rather say, you are very welcome. I just had to add a few other links to some must try recipes. Some that did not make the cut in the paragraphs above, but that I just do not have the heart to dis-include.

roasted ranch potatoesParmesan & Pesto Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

Ice cube tray chocolate covered cheesecakes

baked potato soup

Roasted Ranch Potatoes with Bacon and Cheese

Jalapenos stuffed with seasoned cream cheese and wrapped in bacon

2 ingredient broccoli soup

2 thoughts on “Putting a Pin in my New Year Resolutions

  1. Deb says:

    Lol on the title. So perfect for your topic! Still working on my resolution..yep.

  2. Zoe says:

    I am definitely looking forward to trying out some of these recipes, yum yum!

Wanna say something?

Looking for a category?

mumsnet

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new Dissocial posts by email.

Join 338 other followers

Archives

